Skip Navigation
Menu

Annual Class

Register for the 2023   
Rutgers Environmental Steward class

Registration Online Class DetailsProgram Overview and Testimonials

The Rutgers Environmental Steward program is designed to introduce non-scientists to the science behind important environmental issues affecting NJ. Stewards then give back to their own communities by helping to tackle local environmental problems. If you have a passion for the environment, a desire to learn and a willingness to volunteer, then this program is for you!

We offer one, statewide, online class starting Tuesday, January 24, 2023 with approximately 5 days of in-person instruction. In order to become a Certified Environmental Steward, after the class participants must complete a 60-hour internship of their choosing. The internship exposes the Stewards to real-world environmental issues in their communities.

Essex butterfly.

Class Details

View a Model-RES-Curriculum-and-Schedule (subject to change).

Registration

Click on the link below to register for your region. For general program and registration/ payment questions contact our Unit Administrator, Trish McGuire at t.mcguire@rutgers.edu or (908)-654-9856. For region specific questions, contact the region coordinator:

Region 1Hudson, Bergen, Essex, Passaic, Morris, and Sussex Counties. Note that region 1 has reached capacity. Click on the link to sign up for the waiting list. Coordinators: Amy Rowe, rowe@njaes.rutgers.edu, 908-235-1168 and Claudia Urdanivia, cru1@njaes.rutgers.edu, 201-395-4789, ext. 4229

Region 2 –Union, Middlesex, Somerset, and Monmouth Counties. Note that region 2 has reached capacity. Click on the link to sign up for the waiting list.Coordinator: Michele Bakacs, bakacs@njaes.rutgers.edu, 732-398-5274 and Roslyn Dvorin, rdvorin@co.somerset.nj.us, 908-526-6293, ext. 2536

Region 3 – Mercer, Hunterdon, and Warren Counties. Coordinators: Rebecca Magron, magron@njaes.rutgers.edu, 908-788-1338; Kathryn Homa, kathhoma@njaes.rutgers.edu, 609-989-6845, and Lynn Waclawski, lwaclawski@co.warren.nj.us, 908-475-6507

Region 4- Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem Counties. Coordinator: Michael Jacob, mj740@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Region 5 – Atlantic, Ocean, Cape May, and Cumberland Counties. Coordinator: Amy Menzel, amenzel@acua.com, 609-272-6934, and Claudia Gil Arroyo claudia.gilarroyo@rutgers.edu