Skip Navigation
Menu

Classes

Registration is closed for our
2022 Rutgers Environmental Steward class

Sign up to be notified up other upcoming programs

Online Class DetailsProgram Contacts Program Overview and Testimonials

The Rutgers Environmental Steward program is designed to introduce non-scientists to the science behind important environmental issues affecting NJ. Stewards then give back to their own communities by helping to tackle local environmental problems. If you have a passion for the environment, a desire to learn and a willingness to volunteer, then this program is for you!

We offer one, statewide, online class starting in January, with approximately 5 days of in-person instruction. In order to become a Certified Environmental Steward, after the class participants must complete a 60-hour internship of their choosing. The internship exposes the Stewards to real-world environmental issues in their communities.

Essex butterfly.

Class Details

View a Model-RES-Curriculum-and-Schedule (subject to change).

Program Contacts

For general program and registration/ payment questions contact our Unit Administrator, Trish McGuire at t.mcguire@rutgers.edu or (908)-654-9856. For region specific questions, contact the region coordinator:

Region 1- Hudson, Bergen, Essex, Passaic, Morris, and Sussex Counties. Coordinators: Amy Rowe, rowe@njaes.rutgers.edu, 908-235-1168 and Claudia Urdanivia, cru1@njaes.rutgers.edu, 201-395-4789, ext. 4229

Region 2- Union, Middlesex, Somerset, and Monmouth Counties. Coordinator: Michele Bakacs, bakacs@njaes.rutgers.edu, 732-398-5274 and Roslyn Dvorin, rdvorin@co.somerset.nj.us, 908-526-6293, ext.2536

Region 3 – Mercer, Hunterdon, and Warren Counties. Coordinators: Rebecca Magron, magron@njaes.rutgers.edu, 908-788-1338; Kathryn Homa, kathhoma@njaes.rutgers.edu, 609-989-6845

Region 4 – Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, Salem Counties Coordinator: Mike Haberland, mike.haberland@rutgers.edu, 856-216-7130 x3. Note: This region will be online only.

Region 5 – Atlantic, Ocean, Cape May, and Cumberland Counties. Coordinator: Amy Menzel, amenzel@acua.com, 609-272-6934